Introduction to fixes for a newb'

Nocta

Hi,

I'm new to PC gaming (in fact no but I stopped 10 years ago) and my memories remind me of painful crash stories (and no idea how to fix it back then) so here I am on your wiki and first of all: THANKS!

That's really awesome to have all those infos in one place.

But I'm wondering about all those fixes, when I see a game like BioShock Infinite which got a lot of fixes, do you apply them all before so then you're "sure" to be safe or is it better to use fixes only if you really have a problem?

Thanks a lot.
You'll see me around. :)

Thanks Garrett. That's exactly what I wanted to know.

I realized also that there is often a tweak to modify the FOV, I have to admit that I'm used to the default one due to the fact I played consoles FPS only so far.

Do you guys have any recommendation for a FOV value that is nice for most games and to use as an "improved default"?

Thanks Garrett. That's exactly what I wanted to know.

I realized also that there is often a tweak to modify the FOV, I have to admit that I'm used to the default one due to the fact I played consoles FPS only so far.

Do you guys have any recommendation for a FOV value that is nice for most games and to use as an "improved default"?

That's very common mistake to make. With consoles you are further away from the sceen and use sticks which move you with controlled speed. With PC you are much closer and use mouse, so it's much easier to get motion sick as you can move more quickly with mouse so brains can't keep up where you are moving because you are basically inside of an box.