What's your PC game of the year from 2013?

Andytizer

The latter half of this year saw my free time completely reduced by work and family commitments, so I've hardly had time to play any games which feels awful as my GOTY list looks paltry.

My game of the year is BioShock Infinite. Despite massive hype followed by vehement criticism about its gameplay and linearity, I still found myself really sucked into the game and its story and loved its cinematic and metaphysical moments. Looking forward to catching up on the DLC over the Christmas break.

This is closely followed by Dota 2, made publicly available this week. I haven't played a huge deal of it, but just enough to be able to follow The International and to get into esports in a way that I've never done before in my life, and it's really changed my outlook on how big and exciting these gaming communities can get.

If I had time to play more games I'd probably be able to list a bunch more.. in my queue are games like Gone Home, Papers Please, Rogue Legacy and Risk of Rain all of which I've heard really good things about. Perhaps if I get to any of these before the end of 2013 I'll add them to my GOTY list :).

Mine definitely has to be BioShock Infinite. It had such a compelling story that I was left depressed at the end of it and didn't know what else to do. Admittedly the combat was a bit tedious at times (along with the stupid bullet sponges, I'm looking at you Handyman). The graphics were stunning and the ending left me in awe. I think I'll go as far to say this was one of the best games of the last decade.

Second for me has to be Tomb Raider (2013). The reboot was visually stunning and the story was thrilling. I haven't had a chance to finish it yet (my main computer recently died) but I can't wait to!

Other games I've enjoyed this year include Papers Please and Starbound.

I can't wait for next year! I'd love to see some sci-fi games (I friggin' love that genre!) or some post-apocalyptic games.